The iPod Classic is the gadget that refuses to die. Despite containing a hard drive when everything else is flash memory and physical controls when everything else is touchscreen, this 2009 device which isn’t a trillion miles removed from the original iPod design of 2001 remains on sale on the Apple Store to this day.

But not for long, according to Wired. The piece pulls together a whole bunch of commentators who all agree that this will be the year that Apple retires the elderly design. Perhaps they are right, but we can recall a certain rumor-phobe website called for the death of the iPod Classic as far back as 2011:

Ars Technica is also feeling an end to the iPod touch this time.

I have to say that I only retired mine earlier this year, though it had been relegated to in-car usage for several years before then, plugged into the back of the car stereo. I did like having my entire music collection available when driving, but eventually found I was using my iPhone (in Brodit dock) almost exclusively so I sold it to a friend. It’s still going strong with him.

Will Apple finally retire it? Maybe so, but previous reports of its death have been greatly exaggerated so we’re going to just wait and see.